Jupiter is the fifth planet from the Sun and the largest planet within the Solar System. It is a gas giant with a mass slightly less than one-thousandth of the Sun but is two and a half times the mass of all the other planets in our Solar System combined. Jupiter is classified as a gas giant along with Saturn, Uranus and Neptune.

Jupiter has 63 named natural satellites. Of these, 47 are less than 10 kilometres in diameter and have only been discovered since 1975. The four largest moons, known as the 'Galilean moons', are Io, Europa, Ganymede and Callisto.

The best known feature of Jupiter is the Great Red Spot, a persistent anticyclonic storm located 22° south of the equator that is larger than Earth. It is known to have been in existence since at least 1831, and possibly since 1665. Mathematical models suggest that the storm is stable and may be a permanent feature of the planet.

In astrology he rules Sagittarius, the third of the three fire signs.

Jupiter's position in the natal birth chart shows us where we are most likely to possess a sense of optimism and confidence in life. This is where we have trust and faith and feel that we can fulfil all of life's promises. This is where we can take risks. As a result of our confident attitudes in this area of life, we are most likely to be successful where Jupiter touches our birth chart.

<< Back to The Planets

Quick Links:

The Sun | Mercury | Venus | Earth | The Moon
Mars | Jupiter | Saturn | Uranus | Neptune | Pluto

Last updated by Simon on 10th December 2020  •